News

HTC teases squeezable smartphone ahead of May unveiling

HTC has despatched out press invites for an occasion subsequent month through which it seems as if the corporate will showcase a squeezable smartphone. A picture accompanying the invitation carries the tagline, “Squeeze for the Sensible U” together with a date for the occasion.

Over on Twitter, HTC printed a short looping video that seems to showcase somebody squeezing the perimeters of a cellphone – presumably to activate some kind of operate or menu.



If the gadget is certainly because it seems (squeeze to activate), one has to marvel how putting in it in a case would affect its use. Final I checked, OtterBox instances stay wildly widespread amongst shoppers and are not precisely versatile. Cutouts could possibly be made, I suppose, however that sort of eliminates some of the “magic” of the impact.

The gadget HTC is teasing is, in line with serial leaker Evan Blass, a smartphone codenamed Ocean (more likely to arrive because the HTC U).

The Android 7.1-powered handset will reportedly characteristic a 5.5-inch show with a decision of 2,560 x 1,440, as much as 6GB of RAM and maybe as a lot as 128GB of native storage (expandable through microSD card slot). It might additionally carry a 12-megapixel rear-facing digicam (IMX362 sensor) and an IP57 mud / water ranking. Additionally price noting is that it received’t ship with a three.5mm headphone jack.

HTC’s occasion takes place May 16 at 2 p.m. in Taipei. That interprets to 7 a.m. in London and a sleepy 2 a.m. in New York Metropolis.

Leaked picture courtesy Evan Blass

Most Download

To Top